Guides and References
Health & Medicine Resources
AIDS | Alternative Medicine | Cancer | Consumer and Family Health | Electronic Journals | Health News | Heart Disease | Nutrition | Professional | Reference Sources | Statistics | Subject Directories
AIDS
Alternative Medicine
Cancer
Consumer and Family Health
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Home Page (Site includes health information, statistics, disease outbreaks, etc.)
- Familydoctor.org (General health information by topic provided by the American Academy of Family Physicians)
- Federal Citizen Information Center (Site provides information from the Consumer Information Center Library)
- Food and Drug Administration Home Page (Site includes government reports, FDA drug approvals, FDA Consumer Index, etc.)
- The Health Library at Stanford University (Provides links to websites representing a variety of health topics as well as useful reference sources)
- Intelihealth (A site maintained by Johns Hopkins and CBS which includes medical news, journal abstracts, physician information, and an alphabetically arranged adult health advisor)
- KidsHealth.org (Information is organized for kids, parents, and professionals, and is searchable by subject or keyword)
- Mayo Clinic (Provides information on various health topics and current health news, plus has a searchable drug database)
- Medlineplus.gov (Web site maintained by National Library of Medicine which includes information from the National Institutes of Health and other sources)
- National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (Site provides substance abuse information and links to other sites)
- The NIDDK Home Page (Home Page for the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney diseases)
- RxList - The Internet Drug Index (A searchable site which includes descriptions, warnings, side effects, etc. for medications)
- U. S. Pharmacopeia (USP) (Provides information on over 750 generic drugs, plus consumer information on drug-related issues)
- Virtual Pediatric Hospital (Information on children's health)
Electronic Journals
Health News
- CNN - Health (Top health stories of the day, as well as links to recent important health news from the CNN company)
- Medical News Today (Daily links to articles on health topics)
- Medline Plus (Medical News arranged by date)
Heart Disease
Nutrition
Professional
Reference Sources
Statistics
- globalhealth.gov (US Dept. of Health website which provides links to resources related to global health statistics)
- NCHS Home (National Center for Health Statistics provides news releases, factsheets, and links to other statistical Internet sources)
- World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS provides keyword and direct access to WHO statistical reports as well as links to other health statistical information sites)
Subject Directories