Guides and References
Government Information - Government Resources
Directories, Guides and Search Engines | Full Text Collections | Census and Statistical Information | Other General Statistics | Specialized Statistics
Directories, Guides, and Search Engines
- Catalog of United States Government Documents (index to federal publications available through the Federal Depository Library Program, of which Sprague Library is a participant. Some records contain links to the web version of a document. This is a good place to search for federal publications on a particular subject)
- Federal Government Resources on the Web (excellent site maintained by the Univ. of Michigan Library. This is a good place to begin a subject search of federal agency web sites)
- FedLaw ("a select group of references of particular use to those persons doing Federal legal research")
- Federal Web Locator ("one-stop shopping point for federal information on the World Wide Web;" maintained by the Villanova Center for Information Law and Policy)
- FedWorld ("a comprehensive central access point for… government and business information")
- FirstGov (official U.S. Government portal to government information, services, and online transactions)
- GPO’s Browse Topics (provides topical pathfinders to U.S. Government information)
- Library of Congress Guides
- LSU Libraries Federal Agencies Directory (comprehensive list of federal agency sites on the Internet arranged according to the U.S. Government Manual; maintained by the Louisiana State University Library. This is a good place to begin to find the web site of a specific federal agency)
- SciTechResources.gov (comprehensive guide to government science and technology resources)
- U.S. Government Information on the Web Subject Index (contains links to guides on a subject maintained by various libraries or organizations)
Full Text Collections
Guides and General Collections | Specialized Collections
Guides and General Collections
Specialized Full Text Collections
U. S. Census and Statistical Information
Census Information | Other General Statistical Sources | Specialized Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau Statistics Sources
Other General Statistical Sources
Specialized Statistical Sources
Send suggestions and comments to: Steven Shapiro
Back to Government Resources