Guides and References
Electronic Text & Preprint Collections on the Internet
- Major Collections, Guides and Indexes
- Subject-Oriented Collections
African Americans | Anthropology | Biology | Business | Chemistry and Physics | Computer Science | Earth and Environmental Science | Economics | Education | Film Studies | Health & Medicine | History | Latino and Latin American Studies | Linguistics | Mathematics and Statistics | Philosophy | Political Science and Public Policy | Psychology | Recreation and Leisure | Religion | Science | Women
- Non-Subject Collections
Chronologically-Oriented Sites: Documents from Specific Time Periods
Federal and State of New Jersey Documents
Foreign Language Text: Documents in Languages Other than English
Law and Legal Resources
Literary Works: Fiction, Drama, Poetry and More
Primary Documents: Collections of Texts of Historical Significance
Major Collections, Guides to, and Indexes of Collections
- Akamac_E-text_Links (good for works in the social sciences, especially classic works in the history of economic thought. Starts with Althusser, ends with Allyn Abbott Young)
- The Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts (specializes in English literature, American literature, and Western philosophy. Contains some unique features - see the "About Statement" for an explanation of these)
- Digital Book Index (very good site to use to find free and for-fee titles from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. Log-in required)
- Digital Library Federation: Digital Collections Registry (searchable guide to the publicly accessible digital collections of selected research and academic libraries)
- The Electronic Text Center (main page of the Center at the U. of Virginia)
- In the First Person (searchable index of more than 3,350 collections of diaries, oral histories and personal narratives in English from around the world.)
- The EServer ("the EServer's primary function is to publish texts in the arts and humanities." Contains over 30,000 texts in the humanities, along with links to other sites.)
- The Modern English Collection (a "heterogeneous collection of texts, fiction and non-fiction, letters and essays, etc. from 1500 to the present." A subset of the U. of Virginia's Electronic Text Center English Language Resources Collection)
- Ongoing Hypertext Projects (Henry Adams to the WPA, all from the U. of Virginia)
- The On-Line Books Page ("an index of thousands of on-line books on the Internet and links to significant directories and archives of on-line texts." Provides access by author, title and Library of Congress classification number)
- Oxford Text Archives ("holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages")
- Project Bartleby Archive (non-fiction and fiction works. See also Bartlebyverse: American and English Poetry: 1250 -1920 in the "Literary Works" section)
- Project Gutenberg (the original e-text project. This is the official site; there are also mirror sites at other URLs)
- Public Domain HTI Modern English Collection (publicly accessible texts from a variety of sources. Part of the Humanities Text Initiative at the Univ. of Michigan)
- Renascence Editions: An Online Repository of Works Printed in English Between the Years 1477 and 1799 (U. of Oregon)
Subject-Oriented Collections
African Americans | Anthropology | Biology | Business | Chemistry and Physics | Computer Science | Earth and Environmental Science | Economics | Education | Film Studies | Health & Medicine | History | Latino and Latin American Studies | Linguistics | Mathematics and Statistics | Philosophy | Political Science and Public Policy | Psychology | Recreation and Leisure | Religion | Science | Women
African Americans
Anthropology
- CogPrints: Cognitive Science Eprint Archive (primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology)
- eHRAF (the Human Relations Area File online. Ethnographic reports and other texts on cultures and cultural practices. Off-campus use restricted to Montclair State University affiliated patrons)
- Fourth World Documentation Project ("an online library of texts which record and preserve our [indigenous] peoples' struggles to regain their rightful place in the international community")
Biology
- BioMed Central ("peer reviewed research across all areas of biology and medicine)
- CogPrints: Cognitive Science Eprint Archive (ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory)
- The Quantitative Biology Archives (preprints in biological physics, computational biology, neural science, systems biology, bioinformatics, mathematical biology, and theoretical biology)
- US Geological Service Biological Research Division Publications
Business
Chemistry and Physics
Computer Science
- arXiv.org e-Print Archive (computer science, physics, mathematics, and nonlinear sciences; from the Los Alamos National Laboratory)
- CogPrints: Cognitive Science E-Print Archive (covers "many areas of Computer Science, e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks")
- The Computer Science Preprint Server (registration required)
- NCSTRL, Networked Computer Science Technical Reports Library ("an international, distributed collection of computer science technical reports)
Earth and Environmental Science & Management
Economics
Education
- Education-line ("full text of conference papers, working papers and electronic literature which supports educational research, policy and practice")
Film Studies
Health & Medicine
History
Latino & Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Mathematics and Statistics
Philosophy
Political Science and Public Policy
(see also the "Federal and State of New Jersey Documents Collections" and the "Law and Legal Resources" sections for more sites)
Psychology
Recreation and Leisure
Religion
Science
Women
Non-Subject Collections
Chronologically-Oriented Sites | Federal and State of New Jersey Documents | Foreign Language Texts | Law and Legal Resources | Literary Works: Fiction, Drama, Poetry and More | Primary Documents: Collections of Texts of Historical Significance
Chronological-Oriented Collections: Documents from Specific Time Periods
(See also the "Primary Documents: Collections of Texts of Historical Significance" section)
Ancient and Classical World | Medieval and Renaissance | 17th and 18th Centuries | 19th and 20th Centuries
Ancient and Classical World
Medieval and Renaissance
17th and 18th Centuries
- "All the World's a Stage": WWW Links for Theatre History and Early Music (links to medieval and early modern texts, especially play texts)
- American Journeys: Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Discovery and Settlement
- Early Modern Literary Studies Electronic Texts (15th, 16th and 17th century texts)
- Eighteenth-Century E-Texts ("catalogue [that] includes most of the electronic editions of eighteenth-century works publicly available on the network")
- English Literature: Early 17th Century (1603 - 1660) (contains, among other things, full-text of works of the major English literary figures of the period. Includes John Donne, Ben Johnson, Francis Bacon, Robert Herrick, George Herbert, Henry Vaughan, Andrew Marvell, John Milton, Thomas Carew, and Richard Lovelace)
19th and 20th Centuries
Federal and State of New Jersey Documents Collections
Foreign Language Texts: Documents in Languages Other than English
- ABU: La Bibliotheque Universelle (classic French texts)
- Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature (very good guide to collections of "literary texts in the western European languages other than English)
- U of NC Chapel Hill Foreign Language Resource Center Internet Links (links to Catalan, French, Italian, Portugese, and Spanish literature; realia such as pictures/maps, radio/television,
timelines/chronologies and newspapers/magazines; tools such as dictionaries/glossaries and lessons/exercises and search engines; environments; interactive communication; and meta lists)
- French Online Resources (links to websites; from the Electronic Text Center at the Univ. of Virginia)
- GALLICA Classique (classic works in French; from the Bibliotheque Nationale)
- German Online Resources (links to websites; from the Electronic Text Center at the Univ. of Virginia)
- Italian Literature in HTML/ Antologia (frammentaria) della Letteratura Italiana (contains poesia, narrativa, narrativa per ragazzi, autori contemporanei, testi religiosi, filosofia, saggistica, teatro, and miscellanea)
- Literature in Translation (a subset of the Modern English Collection from the U. of Va. Electronic Text Center)
- Major Online Text Collections Ordered by Language (from Columbia University)
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures Other than English (choose "Literatures Other Than English" from the maim page)
Law and Legal Resources
(see also the "Federal and State of New Jersey Documents Collections" sections)
General Collections | Court Cases (U.S.) | Court Cases (State) | Laws and Legislation | Regulatory Information
General Collections
- The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School (primary documents of historical importance. Some in law; others in history and diplomacy)
- Diana Human Rights Libraries (several libraries that offer searchable collections of documents on various aspects of human rights)
Court Cases (U.S.)
Court Cases (State)
Laws and Legislation
Regulatory Information
- GPO Access (Federal Register)
- Lexis-Nexis (Federal and State codes and regulations. The path to codes and regulations is: Lexis Nexis/Legal Research/choose appropriate jurisdiction in the "Codes and Regulations" section. Available off-campus to current Montclair State University students, faculty and staff with an MSU Internet account)
Literary Works: Fiction, Drama, Poetry and More
Primary Documents: Collections of Texts of Historical Significance
General Collections | European History | United States History
General Collections
- The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School (primary documents in law, history and diplomacy)
- Electronic Text Collections (links to other text collections; from the Hanover College History Dept.)
- Historical Text Archive (Hanover College site that provides links to "primary texts on the internet available to students and faculty for use in history and humanity classes."
- Paul Halsall's History Sourcebooks (good collections of primary documents maintained by Paul Halsall of Fordham University)
African | East Asian | Indian | Islamic | Jewish | Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans | Women's | Global | Science
European History
United States History