Montclair State University

Apply Now

Student Toolbox

Sprague Library

Guides and References

Biology Resources on the Web

Starting Points: Comprehensive Guides, Gateways and Portals

Biology Issues and News

Guides to finding articles and more… [Some links are for MSU patrons only]

  • Agricola: (index to books and articles on all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines)
  • Annual Reviews: (index to review articles in a number of areas of science and some social sciences. Full text available from some Annual Review titles) [MSU Only]
  • Biological & Agricultural Index: (index to periodicals in biology, agriculture and related fields, from 1983 to date. Full text of some articles available) [MSU Only]
  • BioMed Central ("an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research")
  • BioOne: (full text database of articles from a variety of journals in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences) [MSU Only]
  • BioVisa.net (links to free online journals)
  • EBSCO Academic: (index to articles of general academic interest. Full text of many articles available) [MSU Only]
  • Highwire Press: (index to journals in the sciences and other fields published by Stanford University Press. Many articles are available for free)
  • Infotrac-Expanded Acad. Index: (general academic index to articles on a variety of subjects. Full text of many articles available) [MSU Only]
  • Ingenta: (formerly Uncover; index and table-of-contents of over 20,000 journals on a wide variety of subjects. Full text of some articles available. Other articles are available in full-text for a fee)
  • JSTOR: (archive of full-text journal articles. Contains core journals in ecology, from the first issue of the first volume to a three to five year moving wall to the last published issue)
  • Ornithological Worldwide Literature (OWL) ("citations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature that pertain to the science of ornithology. A major attraction is its coverage of the 'grey' literature, which are not abstracted by commercial databases such as Zoological Record or the Science Citation Index.")
  • PubMed (MedLine): (comprehensive index to biomedical journals)
  • The Quantitative Biology Archives: (preprints in biological physics, computational biology, neural science, systems biology, bioinformatics, mathematical biology, and theoretical biology)
  • Science Direct: (database of more than 1,200 scientific journals published by Elsevier. Recent years of about half of the journals are available in full text) [MSU Only]
  • US Geological Service National Biological Information Infrastructure

 

Reference Tools: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, etc.

Biological Databases

Atlases and Images

Teaching and Learning Resources

Information Literacy in Biology

Biology Faculty Recommended Sites

Last Updated: Feb. 12, 2004

Contact Steven Shapiro for suggestions, corrections, etc.