Home > Departments > Periodicals > Scholarly Journals & Popular Magazines  
Quick Links:

Articles & More
Books & More
Guides
Services

PERIODICAL LISTS

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Search our site:

ALPHABETICAL LIST OF DATABASES

  Scholarly Journals & 
     Popular Magazines

Scholarly journals are subject-oriented periodicals normally published monthly, quarterly or annually.  Journal titles often contain one of the following words:  Journal, Review, Studies, Notes, Annals, Archives, Quarterly.

Examples:     Journal of Abnormal Psychology

                    Modern Fiction Studies

                    Notes and Queries

                    Review of Higher Education

                    Film Quarterly

 

Popular magazines are general interest, entertainment or culture-related periodicals published weekly or monthly.  Magazines are available for purchase by the issue at newstands.

Examples:      Time

                      Fortune

                      Vanity Fair

                      Good Housekeeping

                      Psychology Today

 

Professional, trade and technical periodicals contain articles written by occupational or technical specialists to note important issues or advances in their fields.

Examples:       American Machinist

                      Hotel and Motel Management

                      Real Estate Forum

                      Research and Development

                      Restaurant Business

Characteristics of Journals and Magazines

JOURNALS                                                           MAGAZINES

Longer articles                                                       1 or 2-page articles

Few or no photographs                                           Many color photos

Contain references                                                  No references

Plain format                                                            Glossy format

 

What kinds of periodicals are in Library databases?

A Select Guide

SCHOLARLY DATABASES

ABI/Inform (Business)                                

Art Abstracts                                                   

ERIC  (Education)                                          

JSTOR

Medline  (Medicine)                                           

MLA  (Literature)

PsycINFO  (Psychology)

GENERAL DATABASES
(contain articles from both scholarly journals and popular magazines)

EBSCO Academic Premier InfoTrac

(these two databases have Peer-Reviewed and Refereed limiters to focus on scholarly journals)

 

Lexis Nexis Academic (contains magazines, trade publications, newspapers and scholarly journals, especially the Law Review section of the Legal Research database.  Ask a librarian if you are not sure which part of Lexis Nexis to use.

 

MAGAZINE DATABASES

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

Sociological Abstracts                                     

 

 

Thomas Trone

Spring 2002

 

 




Montclair State University Harry A. Sprague Library Montclair, NJ 07043 shapiros@mail.montclair.edu