Home > Guide to Sprague Library 
Quick Links:

Articles & More
Books & More
Guides
Services

PERIODICAL LISTS

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Search our site:

ALPHABETICAL LIST OF DATABASES

  Guide to Sprague Library

 

The University Library is here to serve both your educational,  leisure reading and research needs. This page is designed to give you an overview of our services and to indicate where you can go to get further information. We look forward to working with all of you.


Reference Services

Includes instruction in the use of indexes and abstracts, bibliographies, general reference sources, the online catalog and electronic databases.

Electronic Database
Patrons may search a number of databases on a variety of subjects, including art, business, education, humanities, linguistics and language, medicine, psychology, science, and social sciences. Electronic databases include: ABI/INFORM, EBSCO Premier, Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), JSTOR, Lexis-Nexis, MLA and PsychINFO.
Library Instruction
Faculty interested in bringing undergraduate or graduate classes into the Library for instruction in the use of library materials should call Patricia Sanders, x-7144.
Interlibrary Services
Books and articles from periodicals which are not in this library collection can be borrowed from other libraries. For more information, see a reference librarian.


Periodicals Department

The library subscribes to over 2,500 journal and newspaper titles. Holdings are accessed through the Online Catalog and listed by title in the Periodicals Holdings List. Periodicals are to be used in the library only.


Circulation Services

An MSU I.D. card with a valid sticker is required for borrowing circulating and reserve materials. 

Loan Periods for books are for 28 days with one renewal. Books must be renewed by bringing them to the Circulation Counter before the due date. Borrowing privileges are suspended until overdue books are returned.

Reserve Collection (located behind the Circulation Counter) Materials for required reading are placed in the Reserve Collection and loan periods are determined by instructor. Most reserve items are for use in the Library only and have a 2 hour time limit.


Government Documents

The Library is a selective depository for both United States Documents and New Jersey State Documents. The Online Catalog lists those documents that are in our collections: government documents, reference & circulating books, periodicals, and multimedia. Instruction classes are provided upon request of the faculty.


Multimedia Resources Department

Microfilm and microfiche readers and printers are available.  Materials in this Department are listed in the Online Catalog and include collections of microfilm and microfiche (periodicals and newspapers), CDs, videocassettes, audiocassettes, phonograph records, filmstrips and slides.


Maps & Directories

Click on the level name to view the corresponding floor plan.

  • Lower Level
    • Circulation Books, R to Z.
    • Multimedia Resources Department.
    • Juvenile and Oversized Books.
    • Faculty & Graduate Reading Room.
  • Main Floor
    • Entrance.
    • Reference Department.
    • Government Documents.
    • Circulation Department.
    • Periodicals Department, including Periodicals in Print Form.
    • Copy Room.
  • Second Floor
    • Circulation Books, A to Q.
    • Academic Computing Lab.
    • Copy Room.
    • Electronic Classroom (Room 203)
    • Dean's Office
    • Special Collections



  • Montclair State University Harry A. Sprague Library Montclair, NJ 07043 shapiros@mail.montclair.edu